Our School

Upper Hutt College was founded in 1962. It is a state co-educational college with around 1170 students presently, including international students. It is a decile 6 college and the student body is around 53% NZ European, 27% Maori, 10% Asian ,5% Pasifika and 5% other. Students begin in Year 9 and can continue through to Year 13. All students wear uniform.

The college has a strong pastoral system, with a Head of House and Dean for each year level, as well as an additional Dean of the Junior School. It also has a lively House system with a teacher and student leaders running activities throughout the year. The Houses are named after iconic New Zealand figures: Blake (red), Hillary (yellow), Jackson (green) and Te Kanawa (blue). Besides the competition engendered by the House system, it also provides many leadership and participation opportunities for our students.

The college offers a wide variety of subject options (see our Curriculum section) as well as many extra-curricular opportunities (see our Sports and Extra-curricular sections).