NCEA Information

The National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) is the main qualification for all senior secondary students.  In Years 11, 12 and 13, students study towards obtaining sufficient credits to gain NCEA at Level 1, 2 and 3. In each of the subjects at senior level, there is a mix of internal and external assessments, involving achievement standards and / or unit standards.

Other qualifications offered may include:

  • National Certificate in Mechanical Engineering Technology (Level 1)
  • National Certificate of Tourism (Introductory Skills) (Level 2)
  • National Certificate of Retail (Level 2 and Level 3)

For those unfamiliar with how NCEA works, the following document, the link below gives an outline of how it works and what is required at each level.

How NCEA Works 

Internal Assessments Schedules - Terms 2-4 updated June 4

The PDF files below give the due dates for each internal assessment in the senior school, sorted by NCEA Level, term by term. Click the coloured buttons to see each schedule for 2020 as required. Terms 2 to 4 have been amended and updated in some areas following the covid-19 lock down.





For a clear visual display of the NCEA changes for 2020 please click the button below

NCEA changes 2020